IP Committee Members

The Intellectual Property (IP) committee meets monthly to determine the best path forward for University-based IP. The IP Committee was established per guidelines set forth by Patent Policy 509: “The President of each campus shall appoint an officer or Patent Committee or designate a non-profit organization established for the benefit of the campus to administer this policy. Each campus President may promulgate additional regulations and guidelines pursuant to this Policy to administer this policy within his/her respective campus.”

According to Appendix G of the The University of Alabama Patent Policy, “The President of the University shall appoint a University Patent Committee composed of members representative of the entire University to administer the patent policy and to designate a patent administrator to administer the policies of the committee. This committee and the patent administrator shall serve at the pleasure of, and their actions shall be subject to, the approval and right of review of the President of the University.”

Committee Members

Lauren Wilson

  • Committee Chair and Interim Director, Office for Technology Transfer

Dr. Russ Mumper

  • Vice President for Research and Economic Development

Jared Miller, JD

  • University of Alabama System, University Counsel

Benjamin Bickerstaff, MBA

  • Office for Technology Transfer, Licensing Associate

Dr. Jason Bara

  • Chemical & Biological Engineering, Associate Professor

Dr. Timothy Haskew

  • Electrical & Computer Engineering, Department Head and Professor

Dr. Julie Olson

  • Biological Sciences, Professor

Dr. Rob Morgan

  • Marketing, Professor

Dr. Steven MacCall

  • Communication & Information Sciences, Associate Professor